Research Programming

Delve into the latest science on massage at the AMTA 2022 National Convention. 

Massage Research Poster Session

AMTA is proud to collaborate with the Massage Therapy Foundation on the 23rd annual poster session at the AMTA 2022 National Convention.

The poster sessions are a showcase of research about massage, education, and community service projects. This event creates a forum for informal discussion of research and provides attendees with the opportunity to learn how individual therapists have impacted their communities and advanced the profession.

The deadline to submit poster abstracts was June 1, 2022.


Research Education

The Massage Therapy Foundation Research Agenda
Friday, August 26, 1:30pm - 5:30pm

This session will focus on the 2020 Massage Therapy Research Agenda, developed by the Massage Therapy Foundation. Robin Anderson, MEd, LMT, BCTMB, CEAS, Anne Blair Kennedy, DrPh, LMT, BCTMB and Niki Munk, PhD, LMT will lead an engaging discussion on the research-related landscape, the current research needs and how this information relates to massage clinicians, clients and the massage therapy field in general.

Panelists include: 

Robin Anderson, MEd, LMT, BCTMB, CEAS, is a board certified and licensed massage therapist and the regional director of education for MPower Interactive. Robin is the current president of the Massage Therapy Foundation and has served on many committees with the Alliance for Massage Therapy Educators (AFMTE), the National Certification Board of Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) and the Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation (COMTA). 

Ann Blair Kennedy, DrPH, LMT, BCTMB became a board certified and licensed massage therapist prior to pursuing her Doctor of Public Health degree in Health Promotion, Education, and Behavior from the University of South Carolina. Ann is the Director of the U of SC Patient Engagement Studio and the Executive Editor/Editor-in-Chief of the International Journal of Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork.

Niki Munk, PhD, LMT is a licensed massage therapist, an Associate Professor of Health Sciences in Indiana University’s School of Health and Human Sciences, and a member of the Academic Collaborative for Integrative Health (ACIH) research work group. She has been on the Massage Therapy Foundation’s Board of Trustees since 2017.