National Elections

Learn about the process for electing members to leadership positions.

2019 AMTA National Election Results Are In

AMTA has announced the results of its 2019 national election, conducted in November among its Professional members. 

2020 AMTA Board of Directors

Congratulations to the new and returning board members Christine Bailor-Goodlander (NY), Michaele Colizza (RI), Pat Collins (NY), Jane Horton Johnson (GA), and Scott Raymond (CT). They will join five continuing Board Directors–– Steven Albertson (IL), Bob Jantsch (PA), Kimberly Kane-Santos (PA), Ed Sansbury (NC), and LaDonna Ward (AL) for FY 2020-21.   

On March 1, 2020, President-Elect Angela Barker (WV) will become AMTA President and current President, Christopher Deery (PA), will continue on the Board as Immediate-Past President.

National Election Guidelines

Find Out if You're Eligible 

If you have been an AMTA professional member for at least three years and have served as an elected chapter volunteer, or an appointed or elected national volunteer within the past three years, you are eligible to be considered for the AMTA National Board of Directors.

If you meet these eligibility requirements, consider applying to serve on the National Board of Directors. The application is the first step in a rigorous process designed to help find AMTA members whose personal and professional strengths create the strongest national board team while considering diversity and inclusion.

AMTA National Board Candidate Checklist

For those being considered, applicants must meet the eligibility criteria and complete the application process. This includes:

  1. Sign the board of directors code of conduct.
  2. Fill out the applicant eligibility form.
  3. Sign the conflict of interest form.
  4. Take four online courses and pass the corresponding online exams.
  5. Fill out the bio application.
  6. Submit 60-90 second candidate video.
  7. Submit three letters of reference from professional and personal colleagues and friends. The letters should speak to skills in leadership, volunteer experience and team work.
  8. Participate in a 30 minute phone interview with the Slate Selection Commission.

What is the Slate Selection Commission?

The Slate Selection Commission (SSC) is a group of current and recent past national volunteers with deep knowledge of AMTA who guide candidates through the application process to ensure they meet the high standards required of national board service.

Members eligible to serve on this commission include: Chapter President Council Moderators, National Presidents, past and current National Committee Members, past Commission on Candidacy members and past Slate Selection Commission members.

Through much discussion and debate the Slate Selection Committee has the important responsibility to bring forward the strongest set of candidates for AMTA members to consider. As such the SSC considers all applicants with regard to not only individual traits, but also considers how those traits would work together to create the strongest possible team to lead AMTA.

The following information is from AMTA bylaws and policy:

Bylaws: Slate Selection Commission

A. The Slate Selection Commission receives and reviews applications for candidacy to the national board and shall ensure that one qualified candidate is on the ballot for each open position. A member of the Slate Selection Commission may not be recruited for an elected position.

B. The Slate Selection Commission shall be appointed by the President with approval of the National Board of Directors.

1. There shall be five members:
a. Two past National presidents having served as president within the last five years
b. Two current or past Slate Selection Commission members having served in that role within the last five years
c. One from current standing committees or CPC moderator

2. The term of appointment is for two years beginning on the first day of the fiscal year following the appointment.

3. Slate Selection Commission members shall serve no more than two consecutive two-year terms.

4. The President-Elect is an ex-officio and non-voting member.

5. The chair of the Slate Selection Commission shall be appointed by the President.

C. Duties and empowerments of the Slate Selection Commission shall be defined in AMTA policy.

Policy: The SSC has the following duties and empowerments:

  • Shall review AMTA recruitment and elections policies.
  • Shall establish candidate application credentialing procedures.
  • Shall assess the skill sets and expertise needed by the board.
  • Shall contact incumbents to discover if they intend to seek re-election.
  • Shall make available appropriate education tools for potential applicants.
  • Shall recruit for all open Director positions between August 1 and November 1.
  • Shall confirm that each candidate has demonstrated a familiarity with AMTA Bylaws, policy, procedure and other relevant information through online testing or similar methods.
  • Shall interview all applicants.
  • Shall determine the best applicants to fill positions on the slate.
  • Shall create and maintain guidelines for publication of candidate information.

Questions about the application process can go to


Future Directions/Strategic Plan
Director Position Description

Bylaws and Policy

Bylaws—Article VII
Policy—Candidacy & Elections