AMTA Announces Massage Therapy School Scholarships

In February, the American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA) announced its new AMTA Student Scholarship program as an exciting new initiative to support the next generation of massage therapists.  This program invites students to participate in an essay contest where one applicant will be awarded a $5,000 scholarship.

The deadline for students to complete the online application is May 31, for a chance to receive the scholarship. This scholarship challenges massage school students to strive for excellence in their study of massage therapy and be rewarded for their devotion to the profession.

Twenty $1,000 Scholarships Awarded by AMTA

AMTA is also proud to announce the twenty massage therapy schools to receive $1,000 scholarships for massage therapy students. As part of a pilot program to foster the development of quality massage school graduates, AMTA reached out to massage therapy schools and programs and invited them to apply for $1,000 which they can give to one or more of their students. The association has chosen the schools to receive the awards and has begun distribution of the scholarships to be presented by each school.

The schools receiving the scholarship awards are:
Atlanta School of Massage; Broadview University (UT); Connecticut School of Massage Therapy (CT); Cortiva Institute in Chicago, Crystal Lake (IL), Woodridge (IL), Boston, Scottsdale (AZ), and Tucson; Forsyth Technical Community College (NC); Harper College (IL); Miller-Motte College (NC); Miller-Motte Technical College – Augusta (GA); Minnesota School of Business - Globe University; National Holistic Institute (CA); Ridley-Lowell Business and Technical Institute (CT); Schoolcraft College (MI); Spencerian College (2 campuses in KY); Steiner Education - Florida College of Natural Health; Texas School of Massage; and, University of Richmond School of Professional & Continuing Studies (VA).

“On behalf of AMTA, I congratulate these massage therapy schools and programs on being chosen for the scholarships,” says AMTA President Winona Bontrager. “We believe in the future of massage therapy as a profession and are delighted to give these scholarships to help students fund their initial massage therapy education.”

Pictured from left to right : Leticia Allen-ASM owner;Christina McLarty- scholarship winner; Cindy Farrar - AMTA -GA 2nd VP, AMTA School Awards Committee Leader; Lovelace Linares, ASM Massage Program Director

"AMTA does the most to support our profession."

Jesse J., AMTA member since 2011