Planned maintenance in the Job Bank is scheduled for Feb. 27th between 7:00-8:00AM CST.  Job Bank will not be accessible during this time.

We appreciate your patience as we perform enhancements to ensure an even better user experience.

AMTA Elects National Board

The American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA) announces the results of its 2013 national election, conducted electronically among its Professional members. Jeff W. Smoot of Oklahoma was voted President-Elect. He will serve in that position from March 1, 2014 through February 28, 2015 when he will assume the position of President. On March 1, 2014 current President-Elect, Nancy Porambo of Pennsylvania, will become AMTA President.

Kathie Lea (LA) and Dolly Wallace (MI) were elected Vice Presidents and will serve two-year terms beginning March 1, 2014.

Three Members-at-Large of the Board of Directors also were elected: John Lauren Combe (OR), Glyn Desmond (WA) and Joan Nichols (GA).

Suzie Lindberg (ID) Trisha M. Pennell (ID) and Becky Schwoebel (IL) were elected to the Commission on Candidacy and will coordinate the candidate search for the 2014 national AMTA election. 

A report on election results is available for AMTA members. Photos of those elected to the Board of Directors also soon will be available.

The American Massage Therapy Association is the largest non-profit, professional association for massage therapists, massage students and massage schools. The association is directed by volunteer leadership elected by the membership and fosters ongoing, member involvement through its 51 chapters. AMTA works to advance the profession through ethics and standards, the promotion of fair and consistent licensing of massage therapists in all states, and public education on the benefits of massage. The association actively promotes its members to the public and potential employers.

| Share

"Being a member of AMTA has totally opened my business and career wide open."

Kelly L., AMTA member since 2010

We are AMTA

AMTA has long been the leading choice among massage therapists looking to establish themselves within the profession. We provide our members with the strongest benefits and promote massage therapy to the public and health care community.

Learn more

Contact us
500 Davis Street, Suite 900 Evanston, IL 60201 1-877-905-0577 8am–5:30pm CST M–F
Contact us
Stay connected

Read mtj »