Nominations Open for 2015 Jerome Perlinski Teacher of the Year Award

Nominations for AMTA’s 2015 Jerome Perlinski Teacher of the Year Award are now open through December 12. Anyone can nominate a massage school teacher for this award. Each year, AMTA presents the award to an instructor in an AMTA member school who demonstrates exceptional teaching abilities and commitment to high standards of education in massage therapy.


The award honors the memory of Jerome Perlinski, an extraordinary educator and much loved leader. He is remembered for his recognition of the gifts and talents of others and his ability to bring out their best. A consumer and advocate of massage therapy who was not a practitioner, Jerome held a doctorate in the history of ideas from St. Louis University. He was a widely experienced teacher and lecturer whose committed work helped raise training standards, improve teaching methods and educate massage practitioners about the importance of ethical, professional behaviors. When colleagues remember Jerome, they use words like inspired, passionate, motivating, principled and exceptional.

2014 Award recipient Tracie Livermore of the Pacific College of Oriental Medicine in California was announced in April and will be recognized again at the AMTA convention this September in Denver, Colorado. 

When thinking of who to nominate, consider the question Who Inspires You? File your nomination for an instructor at an AMTA member massage therapy school.

| Share

"AMTA and my chapter have already given me back so much that I cannot believe I ever considered another group."

Chris B., AMTA member since 2012

We are AMTA

AMTA has long been the leading choice among massage therapists looking to establish themselves within the profession. We provide our members with the strongest benefits and promote massage therapy to the public and health care community.

Learn more

Contact us
500 Davis Street, Suite 900 Evanston, IL 60201 1-877-905-0577 8am–5:30pm CST M–F
Contact us
Stay connected

Read mtj »