• Sign in to your account
  • Join now
  • Renew
  • Cart: 0 | $0.00

2011 Awards

The Awards Celebration for AMTA members is an important part of the opening session of the annual convention, as individuals and chapters are recognized for their outstanding contributions to the association and the profession. Check back as bios and further information on award recipients will be added soon.

National Awards

The Distinguished Service Award was given to Dr. Glenn M. Hymel, Executive Editor of the International Journal of the Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork, massage therapist and Professor of Psychological Sciences at Loyola University New Orleans.

Adela Basayne of Oregon was recognized with the President’s Award. She is a past AMTA President and was a Charter Commissioner for the Commission on Massage Training Accreditation, which evolved into the current Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation (COMTA). She was also recognized for her contributions to AMTA’s strategic planning process.

Other award recipients include:
Dan Barrow (NM), Mark Tyle and Whitney Lowe (OR) – Certificates of Appreciation
Missouri Chapter – Chapter Growth
Charlotte Phillips (IL) – Mentor of the Year
Patty J. Kruschke (WA) – Jerome Perlinski Teacher of the Year
Laura Stevenson-Flom (CT) – Sports Massage Achiever
Garnet Adair (AZ) – Humanitarian
Chris Widlund (VT) – Government Relations Activist
Laurel J. Freeman, Rachel Ann Mann and Lee Stang (Revamping of the Policy Manual Operational Committee) – Outstanding Volunteer Group
Ann Blair Kennedy (SC) – Outstanding Volunteer Group Chair
Angela Palmier (IL) – National Meritorious

Give Chapters a Hand Awards of Excellence

Chapter Programmatic Awards, Excellence in Member Communication


Website Category
Small Chapters – Vermont
Medium Chapters – Iowa
Large Chapters – Kentucky
Extra Large Chapters – Massachusetts

Newsletter Category
Small – Vermont
Medium – Iowa
Large – Kentucky
Extra Large – Illinois

Chapter Programmatic Awards, Excellence in Member Programming

Community Service and Fundraising Category
Small – Vermont
Medium – South Carolina
Large – Kentucky
Extra Large – Connecticut

Government Relations Committee Category
Small – Vermont
Medium – Iowa
Large – Kentucky
Extra Large – Massachusetts

Sports Massage Team Category
Small – Vermont
Medium – New Hampshire
Large – Kentucky
Extra Large – Washington

Chapter Overall Awards of Excellence


Three Hands
Small Chapters – Oklahoma
Medium Chapters – Hawaii, Iowa, South Carolina
Large Chapters – Indiana, Tennessee, Virginia
Extra Large – Illinois, New Jersey

Four Hands
Small – South Dakota
Medium – New Hampshire
Large – Arizona, Georgia, Minnesota, Texas
Extra Large – Massachusetts, North Carolina, New York, Wisconsin

Five Hands, our highest Give Chapters a Hand Award of Excellence
Small – Vermont
Large – Kentucky
Extra Large – Connecticut, Washington

Chapter Meritorious

Alabama, Jeffrey L. Spears
Arizona, Mary Tee Wills
California, Amanda Post Whitehead
Colorado, Janine Kay Marshall
Connecticut, Judith A. Ohrt
Delaware, Ronald S. Carter
Florida, George Schwind
Georgia, Joan Nichols
Hawaii, Anne Fritz
Idaho, Ellen Burdick
Illinois, Angela Palmier
Indiana, Terri R. Brandt
Iowa, Ken Swenson
Kansas, Paul Foley, III
Kentucky, Karen E. Miller
Louisiana, Diane B. Navarre
Maine, Katherine Anagnostis
Massachusetts, Jennie Pelletier
Minnesota, Kelli Quist
Mississippi, Sharon Sue King
Missouri, Esteban A. Ruvalcaba
Montana, Julie Ripley
Nevada, David J. Otto
New Hampshire, Lee Chaffee
New Jersey, Aiken Edwards, Jr.
New York, Sue A. Amell
North Carolina, Jacqueline H. Krause
North Dakota, Stephanie Wilson
Ohio, Michael W. Moore
Oklahoma, Kelsey J. Bodenhamer
Oregon, Leah Bowder
Pennsylvania, Gina M. Washlaski
Rhode Island, Michaele Colizza
South Carolina,Gay B. Barefield
South Dakota, Valerie J. Rowen
Tennessee, Amanda Tolise Parker
Texas, Hugh Bofenkamp
Vermont, Chris L. Widlund
Washington, Marybeth Berney
Washington DC, Annie M. Roberts
Wisconsin, Michael Allan Rude
Wyoming, Elizabeth M. Drapela

| Share

"It gives me credibility with my clients that I can say I’m an AMTA member."

Becky P., AMTA member since 2005

We are AMTA

AMTA has long been the leading choice among massage therapists looking to establish themselves within the profession. We provide our members with the strongest benefits and promote massage therapy to the public and health care community.

Learn more

Contact us
500 Davis Street Suite 900 Evanston, IL 60201 1-877-905-0577 8am–5:30pm CT M–F
Contact us