American Massage Therapy Association Elects National Board

The American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA) announces the results of its 2014 national election, conducted electronically among its Professional members. 

Nathan Nordstrom of Georgia was voted President-Elect. He will serve in that position from March 1, 2015 through February 29, 2016 when he will assume the position of President. On March 1, 2015 current President-Elect, Jeff W. Smoot of Oklahoma, will become AMTA President.

  • S. Pualani Gillespie (HI) was elected Vice President and will serve a two-year term beginning March 1, 2015.
  • Three Members-at-Large of the Board of Directors also were elected: Maureen Patricia Hoock (MO), Ed Sansbury (NC) and Hailey Lynn Strampel (CO).
  • Patricia D. Collins (NY) and Barbara Lis (IN) were elected to the Commission on Candidacy and will coordinate the candidate search for the 2015 national AMTA election. 

A report on election results is available for AMTA members.


Photos of those elected to the Board of Directors also soon will be available soon.

| Share

"The support I’ve received at the various levels of my career has been key in helping me get to the place I am today."

Lee S., AMTA member since 1995

We are AMTA

AMTA has long been the leading choice among massage therapists looking to establish themselves within the profession. We provide our members with the strongest benefits and promote massage therapy to the public and health care community.

Learn more

Contact us
500 Davis Street, Suite 900 Evanston, IL 60201 1-877-905-0577 8am–5:30pm CST M–F
Contact us
Stay connected

Read mtj »