Tellers Report: New National Board Directors

Number of Voters More Than Doubles From 2014

AMTA is happy to announce that 87.8% of Professional Members voting in the AMTA National Board Election approved the slate of new board directors to take office on March 1, 2016.

The new board members will be Angela Barker (WV), Chris Deery (PA), Cindy Farrar (GA), Joan Nichols (GA), Patricia Phillips (WA), Scott Raymond (CT), and Dolly Wallace (MI). They will join three continuing Board Directors – Maureen Hoock (MO), Ed Sansbury (NC) and Hailey Strampel (CO) – for FY 2016-17. Current President-Elect Nathan Nordstrom (WA) will become AMTA President, and current President Jeff Smoot (OK) will continue on the Board as Immediate-Past President.

The number of Professional Members who voted in this year’s election increased 144% over vote totals for 2014. A total of 2,000 more members voted this year than last year, in a two-week shorter voting period. This represents the highest voter turnout and highest percentage of people voting since 2008.

The Board of Directors changed the process for the election this year in an effort to increase member participation and to best ensure that board members have the skills and knowledge bases to direct the association as it continues to grow and face the challenges of advancing the profession.

“It’s wonderful to see that this change in our voting process generated so much more interest in electing our National Board,” said AMTA President Jeff Smoot. “AMTA is a very diverse association and we have members with diverse points of view. Thank you, members, for your participation.”

Tellers Report

Total Number of Eligible Professional Member Voters – 56,089
Total Number of Voters – 3,389 [compared to 1389 voters in 2014]
Percentage of Eligible Voters Participating – 6% [compared to 2.53% of voters in 2014]

Updated December 3, 2015

| Share

"Being a member of AMTA has totally opened my business and career wide open."

Kelly L., AMTA member since 2010

We are AMTA

AMTA has long been the leading choice among massage therapists looking to establish themselves within the profession. We provide our members with the strongest benefits and promote massage therapy to the public and health care community.

Learn more

Contact us
500 Davis Street, Suite 900 Evanston, IL 60201 1-877-905-0577 8am–5:30pm CST M–F
Contact us
Stay connected

Read mtj »